Alberta Oil C-Suite Energy Executive Awards

Leadership, savvy and bald-faced luck distinguish this year’s C-Suite award winners

January 01, 2013

Subscribe Email This Post Print This Post Bookmark and Share

Gee Brillon Chhina Hardy Norris Radford Stewart Williams

Oil prices continued to seesaw in 2012, while the lingering effects of a so-called natural gas supply revolution kept prices for the cleaner-burning fossil fuel depressed, savaging shareholders and hastening asset sales.

Nowhere was the pain felt more acutely than in small- and mid-cap equity stocks. Peyto Exploration & Development Corp., led by chief executive Darren Gee, stands out as a company that steered straight through the volatility.

Gee, who leads Alberta Oil’s fourth annual C-Suite Energy Executive Awards as a top-performing chief executive officer, takes acclaim in stride, which makes good sense.
He is not paid to tout shares or sell theories, after all. And in this, Alberta Oil finds cause for recognition. The C-Suite winners are more than a jumble of executives chosen based on quarterly financial earnings.

Alberta Oil bases its views instead on an array of sources, from corporate disclosures to regulatory cases and travel to industry operating sites.

Above all, the following pages reveal there is far more to leadership than what’s reflected in any stock price.

Click here for photos from the C-Suites Awards Dinner held on February 6th, 2013

Award Winners:

• Chief Executive Officer: Darren Gee, Peyto Exploration & Development Corp.
• Chief Financial Officer: Sherri Brillon, Encana Corp.
• Chief Legal Officer: David Hardy, Gran Tierra Energy Inc.
• Chief Information Officer: Greg Stewart, Enerflex Ltd.
• Senior Community/Gov’t Relations Executive: Mike Williams, Tervita Corp.
• Senior Human Resources Executive: Karen Radford, Enbridge Pipelines Inc.
• Senior Risk Management Executive: Brett Norris, TransGlobe Energy Corp.
• Senior Engineering/Operations Executive: Harbir Chhina, Cenovus Energy Inc.

CEO Award Sponsor:

ONE- with tag line

CFO Award Sponsor:

CIO Award Sponsor:

Community/Gov’t Relations Award Sponsor:

HR Award Sponsor:

Engineering/Operations Award Sponsor:

Dessert Sponsor:

Clearstream Logo

Follow @AlbertaOilMag

Issue Contents